Australian Open

The Australian Open: a major event for the world of tennis

This event is annual. It takes place during the last fortnight of January. As the name shows, it is held in Australia, more precisely in Melbourne. It is eagerly expected as the first event of the four tennis events comprising the Grand Slam, together with Wimbledon, the French Open, and the US Open. The fact that the attendance for this event is the highest compared to the other Grand Slam events testifies to the keen interest.

The events comprised in the Australian Open

The events that are comprised in this prominent tennis championship are as follows:

  • Men's Singles
  • Women's Singles
  • Men's Doubles
  • Women's Doubles
  • Mixed Doubles
  • Juniors championships
  • wheelchair events
  • legends events
  • exhibition events

The primary courts for the Australian Open

The primary courts for the matches of the Australian Open are the Rod Laver Arena, the Hisense Arena, and the Margaret Court Arena. They are located in Melbourne Park and are provided with retractable roofs. Since 2008, the courts on which the Australian Open matches are played have had hard surfaces.

In 2019, the building of a new stadium with a capacity of 5,000 seats will be started.

The schedule for the 2018 Australian Open

16-17 January: Men and Women – First Round

18-19 January: Men and Women – Second Round

20-21 January: Men and Women – Third Round

22-23 January: Men and Women – Fourth Round

24-25 January: Men and Women – Quarterfinals

26 January: Men's Singles – Semifinals; Women's Singles – Semifinals

27 January: Mixed Doubles – Semifinals; Women's Doubles – Final; Men's Singles – Semifinals

28 January: Women's Singles – Final; Men's Doubles – Final

29 January: Mixed Doubles – Final; Men's Singles – Final

The Rod Laver Arena

As mentioned above, this is one of the primary courts in Melbourne Park located in Melbourne. It is famous as the main venue where the matches of the Australian Open take place. This is the third name of the venue. Originally it was named the National Tennis Centre, then in 1996 it received the name Centre Court, and its present name was bestowed in the year 2000, after the eminent tennis player Rod Laver who has won the Australian Open three times.

The capacity of the arena is for 15,000 spectators. For basketball matches and concerts extra seats are added.

That was the first venue in Australia which was fitted with a retractable roof. The roof provides shelter from rain or saves players from extreme heat.

The Hawk Eye system of Rod Laver Arena

That is a computer system used in a host of sports, including tennis, since 2001. With it, the trajectory of the ball is tracked, and a record is displayed of the most likely path of the ball from a statistical viewpoint. That system was developed in the United Kingdom. Its developer is Paul Hawkins.

The Hawk Eye system comprises six cameras which are usually located on the under side of the roof. The videos from the cameras are combined, so that a 3D representation of the ball's trajectory is obtained. The accuracy is up to 5 mm. The Hawk Eye is used for obtaining an impartial second opinion regarding the trajectory of the ball.

The Hisense Arena

That is the name for the Melbourne Park Multi Purpose Venue, which was given after its sponsor. It has a capacity for 10,500 spectators.

Originally used for the playing of day matches, since 2012 the Hisense Arena has also been the ground for playing night matches during the first week of the Australian Open tournament, parallel to the playing of matches at the Rod Laver Arena.

The Margaret Court Arena

That venue is also a multi purpose one, with a capacity for 7,500 spectators. It is the third largest venue in the group of venues for the Australian Open.

The cups for the winners in the Singles

The winner in the Women's Singles receives the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup, named after a famous female Australian tennis player.

The winner in the Men's Singles receives the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup, named after a famous male Australian tennis player.

The Junior Australian Open

That is the oldest Junior event in the Grand Slam championships. The matches are for Boys' Singles, Girls' Singles, Boys' Doubles and Girls' Doubles.

The TV coverage of the Australian Open

For Australia the IV coverage is implemented by the Seven Network. For Europe, the broadcasting is implemented by Eurosport.

Online betting on the Australian Open 2018

In the run up to the 2018 Australian Open, it is time to look for attractive offers of free bets, for welcome bonuses for new customers at online bookmakers, and also decide on outright bets on men and women, singles and doubles, according to your preferences.

The welcome offers of online bookies are already extended, so look for them and compare them, and you can sign up with several online bookies, to get the combined advantage of their welcome offers.

Outright betting on the Australian Open 2018

The online bookmaking sites are ready to accept your outright bets on the winners in the Australian Open 2018 matches. You can pick your favourite player that you think will become the winner in the Men's Singles or in the Women's Singles. You can also make your outright bet for the winners in the Doubles events.

Betting on the possibility of a tie break in a set

For the Australian Open 2018, you can also place a bet on whether in a set there will be a tie break or not.

Handicap betting on Australian Open 2018 matches

When a favourite is set to play against an underdog, the odds are low. That is why online bookies offer handicap betting, in which the chances of either of the players winning are getting as close to 50 percent as possible. Wagering on the favourite will come with a very low risk. Betting on the underdog will come with a high risk, but the profit will be higher. When you place your bet on the favourite, that will be a negative handicap bet; wagering on the underdog will be a positive handicap bet.