The French Open

This tournament, held in the end of May and the beginning of June, is also known by the name Roland-Garros, after a famous French aviator, and is the second of the four Grand Slam tournaments. The tournament is held on the Stade Roland-Garros, in Paris, the capital of France. It is known as the only major event in tennis held on clay. Because of the surface and also because of the seven rounds that are necessary, the French Open is renowned as the tournament which demands the most physical effort by players.

Compared to grass or hard surface courts, courts with a clay surface slow down the ball, and also the ball bounces high. Because of these effects, serve and serve and volley advantages are diminished, so that is a more serious challenge to players who play in that manner. And vice versa, tennis players whose playing manners are more conforming to slower surfaces achieve success in the French Open event.

The Stade Roland-Garros

The venue which hosts the French Open also bears the name Roland-Garros. It has an area of 21 acres and comprises 20 courts, plus 3 stadiums, and some other facilities, including a multimedia museum which is dedicated to tennis history.

There have been plans regarding the building of a covered stadium, and plans for a new venue for the French Open with 55 courts. In 2011 the decision was taken that the tournament should remain at the Stade Roland-Garros. The plan for an expansion has continued to be on the agenda. The new facility was planned to be built by 2019. Currently the building has been halted, but the French Tennis Federation has been striving in favour of its continuation.

The courts of the Stade Roland-Garros

  • Philippe Chartrier Court

This court, built in 1928 to host the Davis Cup, is the central and principal venue of the stadium, with a capacity for almost 15,000 spectators. It bears the name of one of the presidents of the French Tennis Federation.

As the central venue of the stadium, the Philippe Chartrier Court has been the place for a number of high profile tennis matches. Its last refurbishment took place in 2008. The the four stands of the court were named after the four “Musketeers” who won the Davis Cup 6 times: Jacques Brugnon, Henri Cochet, René Lacoste, and Jean Borotra.

Currently the Roland-Garros centre court is not covered with a roof. The renovation project comprises the building of a retractable roof over the Philippe Chartrier Court. The closing of the roof will take about quarter of an hour.

  • Suzanne Lenglen Court

The capacity of this court is for over 10,000 spectators. It bears the name of the first woman star in the game of tennis.

The court was inaugurated in 1994, under the name Court A, and is partly below ground level. It comprises two elliptical shapes which are structured around 4 pillars. One more distinctive feature of the court is the underground irrigation system, whose purpose is to maintain the humidity of the surface.

  • Court 1

This venue, built in 1980, located at the eastern end of Stade Roland-Garros has a circular shape and is also known as the Bullring. Its capacity is for 3,800 spectators.

The acroterium on top of the structure is famed for the engraved names of all the champions in the singles events, from the very first one, H. Briggs, winner in the 1891 event. There is sufficient space for engraving the winners' names until the year 2020.

TV coverage of the French Open in the United Kingdom

The rights for the coverage of the French Open are held by ITV Sport. The predominant part of the daily coverage is shown on ITV4, and the weekend tennis matches and the singles finals are show on ITV1.

The French Open events and the 2018 schedule

The events comprising the French Open are Singles, Doubles, Mixed Doubles. There are four rounds, then the quarterfinals, the semifinals, and the finals.

There are also matches for juniors and for wheelchair players.

The juniors' matches attract the attention with the emergence of new hopefuls who play exciting tennis.

The French Open 2018 kicks off on 27 May, and has the following schedule:

  • 27-29 May: First Round
  • 30-31 May: Second Round
  • 1-2 June: Third Round
  • 3-4 June: Fourth Round
  • 5-6 June: Quarterfinals
  • 7 June: Women's Semifinals
  • 8 June: Men's Semifinals
  • 9 June: Women's Finals
  • 10 June: Men's Finals

Online betting on the French Open

Being the second of the four prominent tennis tournaments worldwide, comprising the Grand Slam, the championship is bound to abound in thrilling betting opportunities. You can find a host of tips to help you if you have little or no practice in online wagering, and offers of free bets and attractive bets on a plethora of online bookmakers' sites.

First of all, if you are planning to open your online bookie account, look at the welcome offers for new customers, the bonuses extended, and find the most attractive and appropriate ones. If you are attracted to more than one offer, you can open your accounts at more online bookie sites. With several accounts with several different online bookies, you will benefit from several attractive bonuses coming with signing up as a new customer.

The tips comprise the advice about the manner of playing of the participants, in connection with the clay surface of the Stade Roland-Garros and the effect it has on the behaviour of the tennis ball. You will be advised about tennis players whose gaming style is more adapted to slow surfaces like clay surface; one of these eminent players is Rafael Nadal.

You can look at the types of bets offered, especially at the outrights, and study the odds that online bookies extend. You can place your wager on the outright winners, on the number of games played in the first, second, third, or fourth round, bet on the final set score, on whether a match of your choice will end in a tiebreak, you can wager on the runner up, etcetera.