2018 Six Nations Championship

This annual rugby tournament is a competition in which the teams of the following six countries participate: England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, France, and Italy. In the 2017 event, England won the champion title. Other titles used for the champions in the tournament are the European Champions and the Champions of the Northern Hemisphere.

The outright winners in the championships throughout the years

Since the predecessor of the tournament, the Home Nations, was inaugurated, then in the Five Nations, the successor, and in the present Six Nations tournament which was inaugurated in 2000, England has been the record holder for outright winner. It has won 28 titles altogether, followed by Wales with 26 titles.

In the history of the Six Nations tournament, only Scotland and Italy have not won the title. But Scotland was the last outright winner in the Five Nations event.

The matches played in the frames of the Six Nations tournament

The tournament has a simple format. Each team plays each of the other teams once. The total number of matches is 15.

The points awarded in the matches

Prior to the 2017 event, the points awarded were as follows: two points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss.

In the 2017 event, the bonus point system was used for the first time. The system is similar to the systems employed in the majority of rugby tournaments. For a win, four points are awarded, for a draw, two points are awarded, and again there are no points for a loss. In addition, one point is awarded for four or more than four tries scored in a match; one point is awarded for losing by 7 or fewer points.

The difference in this tournament is that three extra points are awarded to a Grand Slam winner, so that the finishing of the winner at the top of the table can be ensured.

What is a Grand Slam, a Triple Crown, a Wooden Spoon, and Whitewashing

The Grand Slam is obtained when a team wins all the games.

The Triple Crown is obtained when a home nation wins over the other three home nations. There is a special Triple Crown trophy.

The Wooden Spoon is obtained when a team finishes at the bottom of the table for the league.

When a team has lost all the five matches, that team is termed “whitewashed”. The only teams to have avoided the “Whitewashed” title in the Six Nations are the teams of England and Ireland.

The individual competitions taking place during the Six Nations tournament

There are several individual competitions held during that period, and special trophies awarded.

The Calcutta Cup is an annual event in which England plays versus Scotland. That is a competition dating from 1879.

The Millennium Trophy is awarded in the competition between Enland and Ireland. That competition dates from 1988.

The Centenary Quaich is awarded in the competition between Ireland and Scotland. That competition dates from 1989.

The Guiseppe Garibaldi Trophy is awarded in the competition between France and Italy. That competition dates from 2007.

The venues for the matches

In England, the venue is the Twickenham Stadium, in southwest London, having a capacity for 82,000 spectators.

In Wales, the venue is the Millennium Stadium, in Cardiff, with a capacity for 74,500 spectators.

In Scotland, the venue is the Murrayfield Stadium, in Edinburgh, with a capacity for 67,144 spectators.

In Ireland, the venue is the Aviva Stadium, in Dublin, with a capacity for 51,700 spectators.

In France, the venue is Stade de France, in Saint-Denis, in the vicinity of Paris, with a capacity for 81,338 spectators.

In Italy, the venue is Stadio Olimpico, in Rome, with a capacity for 72,698 spectators.

The schedule of the Six Nations 2018

  1. Round 1
    • 3 February: Wales versus Scotland, Principality Stadium
    • 3 February: France versus Ireland, Stade de France
    • 4 February: Italy versus England, Stadio Olimpico
  2. Round 2
    • 10 February: Ireland versus Italy, Aviva Stadium
    • 10 February: England versus Wales, Twickenham Stadium
    • 11 february: Scotland versus France, BT Murrayfield
  3. Round 3
    • 23 February: France versus Italy, TBA
    • 24 February: Ireland versus Wales, Aviva Stadium
    • 24 February: Scotland versus England, BT Murrayfield
  4. Round 4
    • 10 February: Ireland versus Scotland, Aviva Stadium
    • 10 February: France versus England, Stade de France
    • 11 February: Wales versus Italy, Principality Stadium
  5. Round 5
    • 17 February: Italy versus Scotland, Stadio Olimpico
    • 17 February: England versus Ireland, Twickenham Stadium
    • 17 February: Wales versus France, Principality Stadium

Online betting on the Six Nations matches

The run up to the tournament is a thrilling period for online betting. The odds and tips are available on online bookmaker sites. If you have not registered an account, do so, and prior to that explore the offers of welcome bonuses for new customers. With the bonuses for novice bettors you will also grab fascinating offers of free bets.

As a back-to-back champion, England is a prominent favourite. They start with a match against Italy on 4 February.

The participants in the individual competitions are bound to show off their class and strength to the full. If you are interested in the rivalries, and if you are eager to bet on the result, use your knowledge and experience in online betting to place your bet. Because the rules state that each country's team plays against the teams of all the other countries, you can bet on the outcome of the rivalries between England ans Scotland, for the Calcutta Cup, England and Ireland, for the Millennium trophy, Ireland and Scotland, for the Centenary Quaich, France and Italy, for the Garibaldi Trophy.

You can place your outright bets on the winner, or on the winner in an individual competition of your choice. You can bet on the result of a match, etc.

You can also opt for free bets which are opportunities extended by online bookmakers. There are great offers available, so researching and comparing will lead to a great free betting experience online, on the Six Nations tournament.